Hamburger/Potato Skillet

Author Topic: Hamburger/Potato Skillet (Read 1097 times)

  • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7596
  • Karma: 180
  • Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « on: January 05, 2015, 02:05:36 PM »

    It was my turn last night to make dinner. Didn't know what to make so I invented something. It was quick, easy, and darn pretty tasty, so I thought I would share it.

    1-1/2 pounds of lean ground beef
    1 medium onion – chopped
    4 stalks of celery – chopped
    4 cloves garlic – chopped
    2 tbs butter
    seasoned salt
    pepper
    thyme
    cumin
    2 cans (10-3/4 oz) cream of mushroom soup
    4 medium potatoes – grated w/ peels on
    1 cup grated cheddar cheese

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees. I browned the hamburger in our 3-1/2 qt cast iron braiser to make sure it would all fit and that I would only use one piece of cookware. Then I added the onion, celery, garlic, and sauteed all that together. I also added the seasoning, to taste. After that I mixed in the soup, as well as the potatoes. Flatten with spatula and add to oven uncovered for 1 hour. Add cheese and broil until golden brown on top.

    I served this with steamed asparagus spears.

    .

    « Last Edit: January 05, 2015, 02:10:53 PM by nelson96 »

    Logged

    “There are few things more pathetic than those who have lost their curiosity and sense of adventure, and who no longer care to learn.”
    ~ Gordon B. Hinckley

    One hundred thousand generations of people lived and ate as hunter-gatherers, and only two generations have grown up on highly processed fast foods. . . It's not too late

    I've been to the battle field, I've seen the enemy and the enemy is me.
    ~ Paraphrasing 'Pogo' comic strip (author Walt Kelly)

    • Survival Demonstrator

  • Posts: 3166
  • Karma: 120
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 03:24:32 PM »

    I will try this out. I'm also a "one pot" man when I can get away with it. The other night I whipped up a "tater tot casserole" that was rather similar to this, but with the notable exception of frozen tater tots instead of grated potatoes.

    1-1/2 lean grnd beef
    2 celery
    1 carrot
    1 med onion
    (spices I forget, but know I used paprika)
    1 can cream of mushroom soup

    Cook similar to yours, but add cooked meat and veggies into baking dish, mix in soup (cream of chicken works too) and layer tots on top.
    Bake in oven 350F for 35min+

    You could add shredded cheese on top.

    This is one of many "last ditch" dad has to cook on short notice type meals.

    Logged

    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/S5QPSCX

    • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7596
  • Karma: 180
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 03:32:26 PM »

    I will try this out. I'm also a "one pot" man when I can get away with it. The other night I whipped up a "tater tot casserole" that was rather similar to this, but with the notable exception of frozen tater tots instead of grated potatoes.

    1-1/2 lean grnd beef
    2 celery
    1 carrot
    1 med onion
    (spices I forget, but know I used paprika)
    1 can cream of mushroom soup

    Cook similar to yours, but add cooked meat and veggies into baking dish, mix in soup (cream of chicken works too) and layer tots on top.
    Bake in oven 350F for 35min+

    You could add shredded cheese on top.

    This is one of many "last ditch" dad has to cook on short notice type meals.

    I've done something very similar but as a shepards pie. . . . Replace tator tots with mashed potatoes.

    Logged

    “There are few things more pathetic than those who have lost their curiosity and sense of adventure, and who no longer care to learn.”
    ~ Gordon B. Hinckley

    One hundred thousand generations of people lived and ate as hunter-gatherers, and only two generations have grown up on highly processed fast foods. . . It's not too late

    I've been to the battle field, I've seen the enemy and the enemy is me.
    ~ Paraphrasing 'Pogo' comic strip (author Walt Kelly)

    • The Defenestrator
    • Global Moderator
    • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7068
  • Karma: 121
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #3 on: January 05, 2015, 03:34:40 PM »

    Any suggestion for avoiding the "cream of" soup? I have a kid that seems to be allergic to all the cream soups. (vomiting)

    Logged

    F_M
    Check out my blogs at The Homestead Fritz and Camping With Fritz

    • Dedicated Contributor

  • Posts: 1658
  • Karma: 41
  • Proudly owned by a yellow lab!
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #4 on: January 05, 2015, 03:37:40 PM »

    Any suggestion for avoiding the "cream of" soup? I have a kid that seems to be allergic to all the cream soups. (vomiting)

    Maybe some sour cream after it cooks? Like stroganoff?

    Logged

    –Montani Semper Liberi

    • Dedicated Contributor

  • Posts: 1560
  • Karma: 91
  • Just a dude
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #5 on: January 05, 2015, 03:49:18 PM »

    When I was a short order cook the signature dish was hash browns cooked with onions and peppers until done. At that point you'd dump a couple scrambled eggs and mix until it cooked through. Cheese on top and cover til it melts. Heaven. I add bacon of course.

    It's become popular at the cabin since. Sounds like you guys are aligning pretty close. It's a great scratch way to feed many.

    Fritz- try a dollop of Mexican sour cream or even Greek yogurt in a pinch. Just know you might need to add mushrooms, onions, garlic, etc. that the soup offers. I can't stand most "cream of…" soups but mushroom will always hold a place in my heart for down home pork casseroles as a kid. You could probably get away with some kind of bechamel, sauce Mornay, or hollandaise (my fave) and it would be all the better for it. Most of us use canned soups as a shortcut for real French sauces anyway. You could thicken chicken stock with a roux and probably get close.

    Nostalgia for the days of sous chefery…

    Logged

    The Universe is infinite so not only is there another earth, there are infinite other earths and every possibility is happening simultaneously. How about we make this earth the best?

    • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7596
  • Karma: 180
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #6 on: January 05, 2015, 04:14:53 PM »

    Any suggestion for avoiding the "cream of" soup? I have a kid that seems to be allergic to all the cream soups. (vomiting)

    I'm guessing that it's a lactose issue?

    The soup is really just a binding agent that's quick/easy and adds good flavor. I would say that you can substitute a lactose free soup but I'm not sure they make a condensed version. When I add the cream of mushroom, I throw it in straight from the can without adding water.

    Eggs would work, but would change the dish completely.

    Logged

    “There are few things more pathetic than those who have lost their curiosity and sense of adventure, and who no longer care to learn.”
    ~ Gordon B. Hinckley

    One hundred thousand generations of people lived and ate as hunter-gatherers, and only two generations have grown up on highly processed fast foods. . . It's not too late

    I've been to the battle field, I've seen the enemy and the enemy is me.
    ~ Paraphrasing 'Pogo' comic strip (author Walt Kelly)

    • Survival Demonstrator

  • Posts: 3166
  • Karma: 120
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #7 on: January 05, 2015, 04:23:58 PM »

    Any suggestion for avoiding the "cream of" soup? I have a kid that seems to be allergic to all the cream soups. (vomiting)

    My daughter is gluten intolerant. Not full on celiac, and she can enjoy the rare pastry, but I just make cream of chicken soup using gluten free flour.

    Logged

    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/S5QPSCX

    • Survival Demonstrator

  • Posts: 3166
  • Karma: 120
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #8 on: January 05, 2015, 04:30:02 PM »

    I've done something very similar but as a shepards pie. . . . Replace tator tots with mashed potatoes.

    When I make mashed potatoes I often will make 2-3 times what I expect we'll eat in a meal for this reason. Otherwise mashed potatoes from scratch are too involved for a improvised meal.

    Logged

    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/S5QPSCX

    • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7596
  • Karma: 180
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #9 on: January 05, 2015, 04:35:45 PM »

    mashed potatoes from scratch are too involved for a improvised meal.

    Oh but so worth it.
    Next time you make mashed potatoes, add real butter, half & half, garlic powder, shredded pepper jack cheese. . . . It'll be worth it. You don't even have to peel the potatoes or mash them up very well.

    Logged

    “There are few things more pathetic than those who have lost their curiosity and sense of adventure, and who no longer care to learn.”
    ~ Gordon B. Hinckley

    One hundred thousand generations of people lived and ate as hunter-gatherers, and only two generations have grown up on highly processed fast foods. . . It's not too late

    I've been to the battle field, I've seen the enemy and the enemy is me.
    ~ Paraphrasing 'Pogo' comic strip (author Walt Kelly)

  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: 4
  • New TSP Forum member
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #10 on: January 05, 2015, 05:32:06 PM »

    Mashed potatoes freeze really well in food saver bags too. I did about 20 pounds in 5 different bags…just thaw and serve!

    Logged

    • Dedicated Contributor

  • Posts: 1560
  • Karma: 91
  • Just a dude
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #11 on: January 05, 2015, 05:35:26 PM »

    And they make a weird breakfast when smashed in a waffle iron… I actually love waffled mashed potatoes with cream, chives, and caviar.

    Logged

    The Universe is infinite so not only is there another earth, there are infinite other earths and every possibility is happening simultaneously. How about we make this earth the best?

    • Survival Demonstrator

  • Posts: 3166
  • Karma: 120
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #12 on: January 05, 2015, 05:51:51 PM »

    And they make a weird breakfast when smashed in a waffle iron… I actually love waffled mashed potatoes with cream, chives, and caviar.

    I didn't realize MN had legalized recreational marijuana

    Logged

    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/S5QPSCX

    • Dedicated Contributor

  • Posts: 1560
  • Karma: 91
  • Just a dude
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #13 on: January 05, 2015, 06:11:32 PM »

    No, our governor is a drunk not a pothead. It's a shame too when you watch loved ones crippled by arthritis or Crone's.

    I'm what you call a "foodie". As a youngin' I worked in a series of restaurants, caterers, and still moonlight as an adviser to bakeries. In our house a whim means Belgian steamed mussels or Dutch pancakes. I have a copy of Modernist Cuisine if it puts things in perspective. Yes, I make foams, gels, and the like. Sous vide is great. Ferran Adria is a personal hero.

    http://modernistcuisine.com/books/modernist-cuisine/
    I'd highly recommend it. Worth the $500.

    Logged

    The Universe is infinite so not only is there another earth, there are infinite other earths and every possibility is happening simultaneously. How about we make this earth the best?

    • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7596
  • Karma: 180
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #14 on: January 05, 2015, 06:20:13 PM »

    We don't need no stinking cook books?

    Logged

    “There are few things more pathetic than those who have lost their curiosity and sense of adventure, and who no longer care to learn.”
    ~ Gordon B. Hinckley

    One hundred thousand generations of people lived and ate as hunter-gatherers, and only two generations have grown up on highly processed fast foods. . . It's not too late

    I've been to the battle field, I've seen the enemy and the enemy is me.
    ~ Paraphrasing 'Pogo' comic strip (author Walt Kelly)

    • Dedicated Contributor

  • Posts: 1658
  • Karma: 41
  • Proudly owned by a yellow lab!
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #15 on: January 05, 2015, 07:03:46 PM »

    $500

    We don't need no stinking cook books?

    Logged

    –Montani Semper Liberi

    • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7596
  • Karma: 180
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #16 on: January 05, 2015, 07:08:45 PM »

    a recipe for home made Hamburger Helper

    Bite your tongue.

    Logged

    “There are few things more pathetic than those who have lost their curiosity and sense of adventure, and who no longer care to learn.”
    ~ Gordon B. Hinckley

    One hundred thousand generations of people lived and ate as hunter-gatherers, and only two generations have grown up on highly processed fast foods. . . It's not too late

    I've been to the battle field, I've seen the enemy and the enemy is me.
    ~ Paraphrasing 'Pogo' comic strip (author Walt Kelly)

    • Global Moderator
    • Survival Demonstrator

  • Posts: 2190
  • Karma: 217
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #17 on: January 05, 2015, 09:35:35 PM »

    Nelson, it sounds awesome. I will try it out with the family.

    Logged

    "You can always count on Americans to do the right thing, after they've tried everything else"
    -Winston Churchill

    "You think health care is expensive now? Wait until its free!"
    -P.J. O'Rourke

    • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7596
  • Karma: 180
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #18 on: January 05, 2015, 09:54:32 PM »

    Nelson, it sounds awesome. I will try it out with the family.

    Let me know what they think.

    Logged

    “There are few things more pathetic than those who have lost their curiosity and sense of adventure, and who no longer care to learn.”
    ~ Gordon B. Hinckley

    One hundred thousand generations of people lived and ate as hunter-gatherers, and only two generations have grown up on highly processed fast foods. . . It's not too late

    I've been to the battle field, I've seen the enemy and the enemy is me.
    ~ Paraphrasing 'Pogo' comic strip (author Walt Kelly)

    • Survivor

  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: 9
  • Chesapeake'n Prepper
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #19 on: January 05, 2015, 10:23:18 PM »

    I'm going to try it too. Sounds like dishes we like making.

    I make one kinda similar but with just with potatoes (sliced like patties) , onions hamburg & fennel

    I use fennel in a lot of my dishes since it's a great natural defense against acid reflux

    Logged

    Mike

    personal prepper blog
    Plummer v. State

    • Survival Veteran

  • Posts: 7596
  • Karma: 180
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #20 on: January 06, 2015, 01:00:20 AM »

    I use fennel in a lot of my dishes since it's a great natural defense against acid reflux

    Interesting, I didn't know that.

    Logged

    “There are few things more pathetic than those who have lost their curiosity and sense of adventure, and who no longer care to learn.”
    ~ Gordon B. Hinckley

    One hundred thousand generations of people lived and ate as hunter-gatherers, and only two generations have grown up on highly processed fast foods. . . It's not too late

    I've been to the battle field, I've seen the enemy and the enemy is me.
    ~ Paraphrasing 'Pogo' comic strip (author Walt Kelly)

    • Survivor

  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: 9
  • Chesapeake'n Prepper
  • Re: Hamburger/Potato Skillet
    « Reply #21 on: January 06, 2015, 04:29:48 AM »

    Interesting, I didn't know that.

    yeah, I get it bad & after 1 particularly bad episode my wife looked up natural remedies on the web & voila – works better than Tums!

    Logged

    Mike

    Posted via blogwith

    personal prepper blog
    Plummer v. State

    Leave a Reply

    